Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
34% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Edmonton, AB

Posted 29-Jan-2018
the staff were rude and glared at my friends and I while walking through the lobby like we were up to no good. extremely unimpressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Feb-2018 by Front Desk Manager M.C, Hotel Management
Please Accept our Apologies . I would like to know more about it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Filled with a lot of dirty drunk people

Posted 14-Jan-2018
When i got to the hotel, the was no one to help with my luggage, wich was quite disappointing. Aftr a long ride. Breakfast is not included... the so called food in the buffet taste and smell like crap.. i was only able to eat salad from there and paid $20+ for that....
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jan-2018 by M.C , Hotel Management
I am sorry for the inconvenience as there was only one person on shift at the time of check in Unfortunately we do not have a bell-person on site. We do not offer complementary breakfast as our prices in the restaurant are very reasonable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from edmonton

Posted 14-Jan-2018
Blodd stains on the bed sheets. Room smells like the sheets were not washed. Very sweaty smelly room. The table lamp does not even have a power button.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jan-2018 by M.C , Hotel Management
I am very sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay with us, please rest assure that this incident has been addressed to our General Manager as this should never have happened. Please accept our sincere apologies.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Saskatoon SK

Convenient for catching the northern express bus

Posted 16-Nov-2017
The room was hot, the beds were hard, the water pressure wasn't great, but other then that it was clean and nice. The staff was friendly and the food was decent.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Jan-2018 by M.C , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
2 out of 5
by Helen

Posted 14-Nov-2017 on Hotels
There are some rooms that are not renovated therefore the beds are bony with coil mattresses. The room stink because of old carpets which are stained and air smells of body odor. But previous experience in other rooms which were renovated already are great.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Dec-2017
Thank you . we truly apreciate your feedback
4 out of 5
by Brad

Posted 14-Nov-2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Dec-2017
Thnk you for staying with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Remote did not work .

Posted 13-Nov-2017
Remote did not work but front desk said they did not have replacements. ?? Maybe just batteries would have solved problem !! Toilet had a leaking noise so finally had to turn the tap to toilet refill off and drain tank. Too big of Gap on bottom of door makes for a noisy place. walls never fixed properly after pictures taken off. Not visually appealing .
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Dec-2017 by FDM, Hotel Management
we are working on all this repairs Thanks for staying with us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

surprisingly large kingsized room

Posted 03-Nov-2017
Pros: room size and comfort. Cleanliness. Extremely pleasant staff and a wonderful buffet.
Location: Right off a major thorough-way so transportation is easy. Very close to West Edmonton Mall and several restaurants.
We were pleasantly surprised at the size and low price of our kingsized room. In fact, we selected the same room the following week when we were back in Edmonton. The staff are extremely pleasant and the buffet was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Nov-2017 by mC, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
by Meghan

So so

Posted 30-Oct-2017 on Hotels
Good location. Polite staff. Bed wasn’t very comfortable (you could tell where someone else had laid because you would roll into a dip in he mattress. and the pillows were extremely bad for the neck as they were round(full) and hard. Hot tub in room was really nice tho. Didn’t try the food cause we wanted something home didn’t have so we ate out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from ALB

Uncomfortable and very noisey

Posted 28-Oct-2017
Pros: The pillows were about the only thing that seemed ok.
Cons: Newer beds. Need to update almost everything.
Location: Thank god for the west edmonton mall and surrounding areas as that kept OUT of the rooms basically untill bed time.
The cleanliness of the rooms were ok. The only semi-sort of wow factor for this hotel. The beds were super uncomfy, you can feel the springs in the bed, however the pillows were ok. The neighbours were loud and rude, the walls seem to be paper thin. The other tenants that stayed there smoked cigarettes and marijuana in the room and the staff did nothing about it. So having to walk through that smell was infuriating as I myself am a smoker but still managed to make my way downstairs and outside for respect of other tenants of the hotel. Very Loud in the hallways people in and out all night banging doors.