First recorded in Galway in 1500, monks established an Augustinian foundation outside the city walls, holding mass in the city in various locations until work began on the present St Augustine’s Church in 1855. Built using Galway limestone, the church took four years to build, opening in 1859.
Today, St Augustine’s is a vibrant parish church, drawing growing numbers of worshippers from Galway’s expanding population.
With religious roots reaching back to the 16th century, St. Augustine’s Church has much to capture the imagination of anyone intrigued by Irish religious history.
Inside, the church boasts a splendid, 1930s high altar carved with scenes from the life of St. Augustine, above which is a fine stained glass window crafted by artist George Walsh in 1968.
Other focal points include the Shrine to Our Lady of Good Counsel, a familiar fixture in Augustinian churches six other shrines and a superb organ made by the 19th century Irish organ builder, William Telford.
Before leaving, make sure you admire another of Walsh’s stained glass windows, unusual for depicting St. Augustine as holding a quill in his left hand.